personal

RANT and update

I received my financial aid information from Augsburg and it’s kind of absurd because my brother got his packet from Macalester and Mac is known for its need based aid (ie the need you demonstrate will be covered 100% by the school), but he still needs to take out like $5000 in loans and apply for work study. I have about $10000 in loans and work study (on top of about $4000 from my first year) and it’s like WHY IS AMERICA LIKE THIS LIKE MY BROTHER AND I REALLY DO NOT HAVE THIS KIND OF MONEY LYING AROUND TO PAY INTO THESE SCHOOLS THAT CLAIM THEY ARE AFFORDABLE. I’M SORRY MY PARENTS DID NOT INVEST IN MY EDUCATION BECAUSE MY MOM WAS PUTTING EVERY DOLLAR SHE EARNED INTO HOUSEHOLD BILLS AND FOOD AND CLOTHING AND TRIED TO GIVE MY BROTHER AND ME A NORMAL CHILDHOOD WHILE MY DAD GAMBLED AWAY OUR MONEY. There has to be another way, right? I know people can meet with the financial aid advisors and resubmit my and my mom’s tax info to do an appeal, but it’s just baffling because…. well, we are lower income (NOTE: I want to say poor, and I know we are, but at the same time I know we have privileges many other lower income folks do not have) and we need aid. I don’t know. It’s infuriating. And there’s the whole Trump debacle signing bills to cut education funding… like bruh my brother and I along with MILLIONS of other college students needed that… what the heck is going on lmao.

It’s Monday and this week won’t be too bad. I have work Wednesday and Thursday. Class is cancelled for Friday. My SO bought the plane ticket for this summer with surplus scholarship money. I am applying to all the scholarships I can find and am eligible for for next semester. I think the next two years are going to be living heck for me with working and saving money to pay for school. I am waiting on hearing back from UB. I’m really riding on this lmao because

  1. it pays well. I will use half of the money I make to pay for my tuition.
  2.  housing is provided for the summer, so I won’t be stuck at home.
  3. I get to see my students again.
  4. the start and end dates of the program fit perfectly for what my SO and I have planned.

I am worried about this summer though because like I said in my previous posts, non-UMN students can only apply for the lead position and (if it’s the same format as last summer) there are only 2 spots available for this position and the supervisor emailed all the residential staff from last summer and the summer before. That means I have some serious competition. I have applied for another summer camp position, but UB is number 1 in my heart. I will just have to keep my fingers crossed.

I did not track or document any of my meals last week because I was sick and just lazy with it. I will have to get back on track with a healthy diet and exercise routine. I probably won’t be uploading a Youtube video this week because I’m still recovering. One of my friends suggested I try intermittent fasting. I’ve done some researching and it makes sense that you’d lose weight on it, but there hasn’t been enough human trials done to have significance evidence that IF works. It doesn’t really appeal to me either because I like eating breakfast in the morning and snacking on an apple or granola bar or something during the day. I’ll try it for a little bit though to see how it makes me feel.

That’s pretty much how I’ve been. A little over a month left of school and then we’re done. Man, I gotta get back into the groove of things. I hope everyone’s been well ❤

 

Leave a Reply

